Don't fall for this trap

find your zone of genius

I fell for a trap…

I took the advice “find the thing you used to do as a kid” and that’s what you need to be doing now.

I even called my mom.

Me: “What did I used to say I wanted to be when I grow up?”

Mom: “Ummm… I don’t know (laughing)”

Big help, mom. Geez.

Anyway, that’s actually terrible advice.

(and I’m not just saying that because I wasn’t particularly clear of vision as a kid)

It’s terrible advice because you have the power to be anything you want to be.

Just because you wanted to be a space pastry chef with a pet dinosaur when you were 6 doesn’t mean you’re held to that for the rest of your life.

For instance, I was never amazing at math in high school.

Reading and writing always came way easier to me.

But I wanted to be great at math. I had an infatuation for some reason.

So I practiced at it.

And ended up getting a bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering which requires 2 years of advanced calculus (basically a math degree), and I earned mostly A’s.

Just because math didn’t come naturally to me at first didn’t mean I had to write it off. I liked it, so I pursued it, and I mastered it.

If I can do it, so can you.

Good advice is to find that thing that gets you excited, hot under the collar, maybe irritated that someone is killing it and you’re not.

That’s your thing.

Make it your zone of genius.

You’ll gravitate to the stuff you’re good at once your are in the arena.

You can be an extrovert if you’re an introvert.

You aren’t what your environment trained you to be.

Look at what gets you in flow state instead.

For me it’s writing.

I am obsessed. And I spend every free minute trying to level up.

Find that thing for you.

And get some.

Swanagan